One of the most coveted accolades in the sport - the Landmark Classic Campdraft - has become a true highlight in the performance horse calendar and a drawcard for thousands of people to come to Tamworth every February.

Horses aged 5 or under and purchased from a previous Classic sale compete each year for a share in a cash and prize pool worth over $120,000 - including the $40,000 winners cheque, which stands as one of the largest campdraft winners purses in the country. This honour roll is to recognise the past winners and great horses.


Classic Champions: Wyatt Young & Nashville Nightman

Superstar Wyatt Young rode his way into the Landmark Classic record books, becoming the first rider to win both the Landmark Classic Campdraft and the Landmark Classic Challenge in 2019.

Riding Nashville Nightman, owned by Marg Hinde, Royce Howard and Jason Bower, the duo took out the 2019 Classic title finishing on a huge score of 350 points after a run off against Warwick Lawrence on Everleigh ASH Stud’s Hunter View Royal Chic
Wyatt had been riding Nashville Nightman since he was purchased from the sale two years ago, for $8,000.




Classic Champions: Ben Hall & Secret Time

Ben Hall and Ken Frost’s gelding “Secret Time” (One Time Royalty x Unumgar My Secret) led from start to finish, heading into the final on a 182.

They added an 89 to not one, but two 91s from the first rounds to edge ahead of Darrin Jones on “Players Garter” (Reys Ya Garter x Bullunbud Players Hicky) and Troy Clarke on the Sadler & Clarkes stallion “Eagle Hustler” (Hazelwood Conman x Kirkbys Stud Bonita) by just 1 point in the total aggregate scores to nab the title of 2018 Landmark Classic Campdraft Champions.

“Secret Time” was purchased for $5,500 at the 2015 Sale from The Sutherland Trust and was Lot 89 in the 2018 Classic Sale, selling for $20,000 to Britnee Breneger on Thursday.





Classic Champions: brendan Fitzgerald & Bonniedoon Kanya Catolena

The Classic Campdraft program saw Roma competitor Brendan Fitzgerald take home his second Classic win in 10 years aboard Bonniedoon Kanya Catolena (Intricatolena x Yulgilbar Kanya Play) owned by Brooke Fitzgerald.

Equal second to fifth were Steve Comiskey aboard Wayne & Sandi Cant’s Duck Dundee (Acres Destiny x Duck Downunder), Ben Hall on Belinda Staib’s DJS Sheza Henrys Gal (Hard Hat Henry x Poco Moon Babe), Ken McCarthy on Lil Stylish Badger (Lil Hickory Badger x Bitsys Stylish Oak) and Glen Peacock on Condor Spin OLena (CD Rom x Yulgilbar Spin N Stylish).

Bonniedoon Kanya Catolena was bred by Bonniedoon Performance Horse Stud - Peter & Karen Reid, Walcha and was purchased by Brooke in 2014 for $7,000. 




Classic champions: Cal Gibson & Yulgilbar Dance Elegance 

In a thrilling final full of big runs it was Bundarra competitor Cal Gibson aboard the chestnut filly Yulgilbar Dance Elegance (Playboy Roy x Winderadeen Pure Elegance) take out line honours this year and walked away with a cool $40,000. Yulgilbar Dance Elegance sold in 2015 for $54,000 on behalf of the Myer family principals of Yulgilbar Quarter horse stud and was purchased by Simcal Trading.

Cal came into the final 4 points behind the joint leaders Ben Hall on Hazelwood Coronation (Hazelwood Conman x Docs Moonlight, owned by Dempsey Pastoral Company) and Pete Comiskey on Binnia Oracle (Binnia Berocca x Orotons Destiny, owned by Woodburn Working Dogs & Horses) and ran a sizzling 92 points (23,65,4) to snatch the lead in the final stages of the draft.




classic Champions: Mat Holz & Bulla Tamborine

Mat Holz from Gippsland Victoria took home the $35,000 first place riding Peter Aposto's beautiful mare Bulla Tambourine.

Bulla Tambourine - HSH is a registered Australian Stock Horse and is by Hazelwood Conman (Dogwood Comet x Hazelwood Romance) out of Bulla Flirt - HSH (Edenhope Sam - HSH x Bulla Flurry - HSH). 

This marked the  third win for Hazelwood Conman progeny in the Classic in the seven years since it began.




Classic Champions: Pat Smyth & Bar None Confession

Pat Smyth from Bendemeer in Northern NSW took home the $35,000 first place riding his gelding Bar None Confession.
Pat and his wife Bernadine purchased him from Cameron & Jane Lee from Bar None Stock Horses for $12,500 at the 2013 Landmark Classic Sale.
Confession is a registered Australian Stock Horse and is by Hazelwood Conman (Dogwood Comet x Hazelwood Romance) out of Lightview Faith (Acres Destiny x Doolans Fleur). 




Classic Champions: Ben McNaughton & The Ranch Jannali (Tiptoe)

Ben is from Walcha in Northern NSW and purchased The Ranch Janneli at the 2011 Landmark Classic Sale for $6,500.
Ben took home a $35,000 cheque for winning the Landmark Classic Sale and Vendor Terry Hillier from Ilabo in Southern NSW was presented with a $5,000 Vendors bonus. 
Jannali is a registered Australian Stockhorse by Knights Top That (Warrenbri Romeo x Homesdale Topsie) out of The Ranch Snickers (Baerami Glimmer x The Ranch Candy Bar).




Winner Michael Hiscock riding 'Luckenough Horizion'

Michael is from Maffa, Gippsland Victoria and rode for the Maffa Syndicate who purchased Luckenough Horizon at the 2009 Landmark Classic Sale for $13,000.
Luckenough Horizon, was sold by Vendor Peter Cookson, Dirranbandi, Queensland, to a syndicate including Terry Hillier, Ilabo, Andrew Sheridan, Bethungra and Steve Condell, Wagga Wagga, and ridden by Michael Hiscock, Maffa, Vic.
Horizon is a registered Australian Stock Horse by Pechey Stud Tradition (Kirkbys Stud Officer x Bookine Patsy) out of Luckenough Joanne (Luckenough Destiny x Joint Venture) 

She was also presented for sale by the syndicate at the 2012 sale and sold for $35,000 to Tommy Gallagher, Hunter Valley.  





Winner Ian Laurie riding 'Whos Catwoman'

Braidwood local Ian Laurie won the Classic Campdraft on Whos Catwoman, taking home $30,000 in prize money and the Landmark Classic Brady trophy saddle. 
Ian purchased this mare at the 2010 Classic sale for $16,000 from Bob Johnston of Loomberah NSW.
Who's Catwoman is a registered Quarter Horse and is by Who's Top Cat (High Brow Cat x Play Who USA) out of Banumum Gleam (Doc’s Spinifex X Wollombi Dainty). 

Catwoman has gone on to be a prolific Open campdraft winner with multiple Open wins to date (6 of these Open wins in 2014) and has assisted Ian in his 5th consecutive Southern Campdraft Association Open Rider Title by providing nearly 25% of his total rider points. Ian won this Title with double the amount of championship points to his nearest rival. 




Winner Brendan Fitzgerald Riding 'Brenwan Snipette'

Brendan Fitzgerald took home $30,000 and the Landmark Classic Brady trophy saddle, after winning the Classic on Brenwan Snipette. Snipette was bought at the 2009 Sale for $34,000 by KR Livestock.

Brenwan Snipette is a registered Australian Stock Horse by Roxon (Warrenbri Romeo x Lastrec) out of Rose Catrec (Bangles Cadetx Certaway).




Winner Terry Hall riding 'Hazelwood Con Air'

Terry Hall won the Classic Campdraft on Hazelwood Conair, taking home $30,000 in prize money and the Landmark Classic Brady trophy saddle. 
Bill and Christine Wild purchased Hazelwood Conair at the 2008 Landmark Classic sale for $4,500.
Hazelwood Conair is a registered Australian Stock horse by Hazelwood Conman(Dogwood Comet x Hazelwood Romance) out of Shield Evoness (Royal Bay Boy x Quiet Sail).