At the fall of the hammer on the last lot at the 2017 Landmark Classic Tamworth, the proof of the strength of the performance horse industry was evident. The sale recorded an 83 per cent clearance and grossed $7.28 million, up by $350,000 on last year’s sale.

A record breaking sales average of $15,568 was achieved as well as $50,000 paid for Lot 499 Bulla Phoenix (Warrenbri Romeo x Lams Miss Dack) presented by Bulla Lyn Stud. The grey Romeo gelding’s sale price smashed the previous record of $35,500 for delighted vendors Mark & Shelley Ruff. Mark & Shelley thanked Peter & Toni O'Neill for all the work put into Bulla Phoenix who was purchased by CM Pastoral. 

Mare ave- $17,227 top of $73,000 Lot 444 Duck Dual (Rey Dual x Ducks Playtime) 

Gelding ave- $9,799 top of $50,000 Lot 499 Bulla Phoenix (Warrenbri Romeo x Lams Miss Dack)- Australian Record

Stallion ave- $32,953 top of $210,000 Lot 413 One Moore Metallic (Metallic Cat x One Moore Diva)- Australian Record.

Landmark Equine would like to thank all involved in making the 2017 sale and campdraft such an amazing success, it is truly an interesting and exciting time to be in the performance horse industry and we are proud to stand behind such an amazing event and sales catalogue. 

The four day sale was attended by competitors, vendors and buyers from every state and territory as well as bids being taken from the United States of America and New Zealand.

The Classic Campdraft program saw Roma competitor Brendan Fitzgerald take home his second Classic win in 10 years aboard Bonniedoon Kanya Catolena (Intricatolena x Yulgilbar Kanya Play)owned by Brook Fitzgerald, equal second to fifth was Steve Comiskey aboard Wayne & Sandi Cant’s Duck Dundee (Acres Destiny x Duck Downunder), Ben Hall on Belinda Staib’s DJS Sheza Henrys Gal (Hard Hat Henry x Poco Moon Babe), Ken McCarthy Lil Stylish Badger (Lil Hickory Badger x Bitsys Stylish Oak) and Glen Peacock on Condor Spin OLena (CD Rom x Yulgilbar Spin N Stylish).

The Martins Haulage Open campdraft saw the unstoppable combination of Ben Tapp and Cooldust win after a run off with Karl Burton and Oaks Penny. Ben and his mare have won some of the biggest drafts in the country including the Warwick Gold Cup, he and his partner Kylie Barnett were thrilled to add this win to the list of the mares great career. Karl Burton and the ever consistent Oaks Penny put together three amazing runs and then a forth in the run off to be crowned Runner up, the Brymaroo competitor and his wife Felicity had welcomed their first baby in the lead up to the Classic. Third was Jack Gallagher and Moore Gold  and equal 4th and 5th was Vicki Hiscock on Bamalam and Troy Palmer on his colt Impressive Destiny.

The Ariat Australia Masters Campdraft (for Open age horses purchased at the 2016 sale ) saw 44 horses needing an 85 or better to advance to the final round. Russell Smith aboard Bilcurra Sooner (Bald hills Sizzler x Egaleview  Revlon ) and owned by Debbie Bates take  out the win this year. Sooner was purchased for $12,000 from B & E Coulthard  Armidale and took home a handy $5,000 winners cheque  for the effort. Second was Teles One Moore (Teles Again x One Moore Spin) ridden by Pete Comiskey and owned by Milton & Christina Jones , better know as Tom the bay entire was purchased from Smith Family Stock horses for $60,000. Rounding out the placings was Landmark agent Barry Groves , Katherine aboard wife Helen's  gelding Windsong Bonfire (Star Commander x Windsong Trinket) purchased for $16,000 from Windsong Performance Horses. 

The new AELEC Bar Gelding dash for cash saw the top 12 geldings after two rounds of the Classic battle it out with Tim McCarthy running a scorching 90 points aboard Kaspers Memphis (One Moore Playboy x Kooroon Meg) pipping young Demi O’Brien on Glendora Amarok (Kayderoyal Voodoo x Glendora Bouquet) and Glen Peacock Condor Spin OLena (CD Rom x Yulgilbar Spin N Stylish).

 Will Durkin aboard Willdraft Atomic (Soda Justice x Willdraft Reveal) taking home line honours. Interestingly the top three geldings, Willdraft Atomic, Barwalla Banjo (ridden by Michael Wilson) and Stoneridge Archie (ridden by Will Durkin) were all by Soda Justice which would have been immensely satisfying for Michael after retiring Soda Justice from competition in 2016.


2017 Landmark Classic sponsored by Landmark

Won by Brendan Fitzgerald riding Kanya Catolena

2017 Martins Stock Haulage Open Campdraft sponsored by Martins Stock Haulage

Won by Ben Tapp riding Cooldust

2017 Ariat Masters Campdraft sponsored by Ariat Australia

Won by Russell Smith riding Billcurra Sooner

2017 Prydes Easifeeds Australian Performance Horse Challenge sponsored by Prydes Easifeeds

Won by Nathan Wilson riding Amaroo Diamantinas Last

2017 Merial Stallion Shootout sponsored by Merial Australia

Won by Troy Palmer riding Impressive Destiny

2017 Charlie Maher Memorial Young Guns Campdraft sponsored by Landmark

Won by Matthew Moffat riding Hazelwood Conduct

2017 AELEC Bar Dash for Cash Gelding Incentive sponsored by AELEC Bar

Won by Tim McCarthy riding Kaspers Memphis

2017 New Breeders Incentive for Highest Placed Geldings in the Challenge sponsored by Landmark

Won by Will Durkin riding Willdraft Atomic